The Bride, The Bridegroom, and The Rapture

So when I write a new post, I typically post it on Facebook for my friends to read.  This week I got the first great response from the mother of a friend in Australia saying that she wasn’t to sure about the Rapture and I can understand that.  So I thought that I’d write an extra post this week to discuss this.

For many years, I thought the concept was somewhat crazy until I began to look deeper into the meaning of the Rapture.  God again came to me one evening on my way home from work.  At 5 PM on Freedom FM is a Pastor who I greatly enjoy listening to because he’s so personable and relates to his audience.

After coming to Christ, I got in my car one evening and he had started a series that went on for a few weeks about Revelation.  The first three days were about the Rapture.  Boy was  I confused!  I couldn’t understand this whole, Bride and Bridegroom thing.  The Church is the Bride and Jesus is the Bridegroom.  Okay, but I didn’t want to take this at face value.  With a little help from friend Google, I found the following passage that really sets the stage for how the Church and Jesus’ relationship is handled:

Ephesians 5:25-27

25 Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, 26 that he might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, 27 so that he might present the church to himself in splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such thing, that she might be holy and without blemish.

So in my opinion this is saying that the Husband (Bridegroom) and Wife (Bride) are representative of the Jesus and the Church.  Okay, okay, now I get it!  This relationship will continue throughout the New Testament as my readings progressed.

Again it was another day as I left the parking lot at 5 and there was the Pastor on his second day about the Rapture but he was discussing a parable from Matthew 25.  At this point I realized that there was so much foreshadowing in the Bible it was almost impossible to comprehend.  My head ached as I tried to wrap my brain around these concepts.  Fortunately traffic was backed up so I was able to listen to the whole sermon as my head throbbed.

Matthew 25:1-13

1“Then the Kingdom of Heaven will be like ten bridesmaids who took their lamps and went to meet the bridegroom. 2Five of them were foolish, and five were wise. 3The five who were foolish didn’t take enough olive oil for their lamps, 4but the other five were wise enough to take along extra oil. 5When the bridegroom was delayed, they all became drowsy and fell asleep.

6“At midnight they were roused by the shout, ‘Look, the bridegroom is coming! Come out and meet him!’

7“All the bridesmaids got up and prepared their lamps. 8Then the five foolish ones asked the others, ‘Please give us some of your oil because our lamps are going out.’

9“But the others replied, ‘We don’t have enough for all of us. Go to a shop and buy some for yourselves.’

10“But while they were gone to buy oil, the bridegroom came. Then those who were ready went in with him to the marriage feast, and the door was locked. 11Later, when the other five bridesmaids returned, they stood outside, calling, ‘Lord! Lord! Open the door for us!’

12“But he called back, ‘Believe me, I don’t know you!’

13“So you, too, must keep watch! For you do not know the day or hour of my return.

Ten brides and one bridegroom.  Five brides were prepared with extra oil and five were not.  This represents the faithful being taken in the Rapture and those left behind. For me this was one of the most powerful teachings I’d ever heard.  It said to my heart that ‘be prepared because you never know when the Bridegroom will come’.  Basically be one with God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit at all times.

But I still wasn’t at a point where I bought into the Rapture.  Again I turned to my friend Google and found more information.  Boom!  Sledgehammer to the brain time again.  Hint: Buy stock in Advil.

Luke 12:35-40

35“Be dressed for service and keep your lamps burning, 36as though you were waiting for your master to return from the wedding feast. Then you will be ready to open the door and let him in the moment he arrives and knocks. 37The servants who are ready and waiting for his return will be rewarded. I tell you the truth, he himself will seat them, put on an apron, and serve them as they sit and eat! 38He may come in the middle of the night or just before dawn. But whenever he comes, he will reward the servants who are ready.

39“Understand this: If a homeowner knew exactly when a burglar was coming, he would not permit his house to be broken into. 40You also must be ready all the time, for the Son of Man will come when least expected.”

This relates to an old Jewish custom, where the Bridegroom would enter a marriage contract which would include a dowry.  Between ourselves and Jesus, the contract is our unending Faith in the King of Kings.  The dowry would be His death on the cross which paid for all our sins that have happened and will happen.  According to the custom the Bridegroom comes unannounced to gather his bride and then go to his father’s house where there is a feast and then the wedding itself.

This all lends itself to a Pre-Tribulation Rapture where Jesus (the Bridegroom) will arrive unannounced, coming down from Heaven and calling up the Church (the Bride) to be with him.

Again we see two separate teachings tied together.  The parable of the 10 Brides and this passage from Luke.  Each are saying be prepared because the Bridegroom could appear at any time.

Interestingly enough, there is no mention of WHEN the Rapture will occur.  There are no signs.  Simply there will be a command to ‘Come, Hither!’ and the dead and living Believers will ascend to Heaven.  After the ‘Marriage’ it can be inferred that the Saints or Bride will ride with Jesus to Megiddo for the battle of Armageddon.

I believe now.  I never used to. Seriously.  I just thought it was something made up to make people feel better but now I know better.  In my heart of hearts, I know where this is heading.  The only question I have is, will I be worthy enough?

These are simply a few passages that stuck out to me.  There are other Bible verses that support the concept of the Rapture but I wanted to highlight some that really stuck out to me and hopefully will impact you also!

Thanks for reading and may you have a Blessed Day!

Please feel free to reach out through email or follow the blog,

A Dad

Leave a Reply

